Barrhead Youth 2003s Reds added another piece of silverware to their already impressive honours list at the weekend with a big 1-0 win over Giffnock SC in the Renfrewshire Cup final at Parklea in Port Glasgow.

The Barrhead youngsters, who have now collected five major honours in just four seasons at 11-a-side level, went into the final against last weekend’s Scottish Cup champions Giffnock as slight underdogs.

However, the Reds had beaten Giffnock in their two previous meetings in the PJDYFL 2003 Division One league this season so had every right to be confident ahead of the final.

READ MORE: Barrhead YFC U21s confident ahead of Scottish Youth Cup final

As expected, it was a tight game with both sides creating a number of good chances early on.

Barrhead carved out the pick of the bunch at the midway point in the first-half as they deservedly made the breakthrough. A wonderful Lewis Hobbs corner was met in the box by captain Chris Brogan whose bullet header left the keeper no chance.

Barrhead News: The Barrhead youngsters clinched their fifth major honour at the weekendThe Barrhead youngsters clinched their fifth major honour at the weekend

The second-half followed suit with both sides working hard to create chances but Barrhead’s resolute back four were outstanding as it ended 1-0.

Barrhead head coach Paul Brogan said: "It was a fantastic team performance with the whole squad giving their all. 

"We had our fair share of injuries going into this game but all the boys gave everything for the win.

READ MORE: Barrhead YFC U21s set for third cup final in maiden season

"The back four are worth a special mention, they were outstanding and really limited Giffnock to only a few chances. 

"The man of the match was Sam Lochhead whose tireless running and effort typified the team performance. 

"A well deserved victory and a great way to end the season. I'm very proud of the boys."

Starting XI: Lewis Anderson, Rory MacTavish, Adam Unsworth, Chris Brogan (c), Aidan Downie, Sam Lochhead, Andrew McIntyre, Lewis Hobbs, Matthew Sorley, Max Donnelly, Lewis Barclay.

Substitutes: Aidan Glasgow, Joshua Groden, Ross Ingram, Ross Hay.

Read all the latest from Barrhead Sport