Arthurlie gained the East Renfrewshire derby bragging rights following an emphatic 3-0 victory over Neilston at Brig O’Lea on Saturday.

A devastating 10-minute spell from the Barrhead men before the interval killed the game and left Neilston licking their wounds.

The home team had started the brightest, however, and had the edge in the opening stages without really threatening the Arthurlie goal.

With 25 minutes played, the tide turned as a through ball sent James Marks in on goal and, as the forward tried to round Tiropoulos, the big Neilston goalkeeper hauled him to the ground, giving the referee no option but to point to the spot.

Del McNab stepped up to calmly slot home the opener.

That seemed to knock the stuffing out of the home side and there was only going to be one winner from there on in.

It only took five minutes for McNab to double his and Arthurlie’s tally as he ran onto another through ball before rounding Tiropoulos and slotting home.

Five minutes later, it was that man McNab again as he completed his hat-trick, taking his tally to eight in four games.

The second half saw a few tempers rise and, although they couldn’t find another goal, Arthurlie ran out comfortable winners.

To be fair to Neilston, they were far from their best on Saturday and will be disappointed with their overall performance, especially the fact they failed to test their former keeper James Digney in the entire 90 minutes.

Arthurlie, meanwhile, didn’t really have to push themselves in the game and were comfortable throughout, as Duncan Sinclair’s squad continues to improve.

Saturday’s result made it four wins on the bounce – a run that has seen the Barrhead team score 17 times and concede only three.

Next up for Arthurlie is Saturday’s trip to Parklea Stadium to face Port Glasgow in the West of Scotland Cup.

Supporters are reminded that the game kicks off at 1.30pm, rather than the usual time of 1.45pm, due to the possibility of extra-time and penalties in the event of a draw.

Neilston: Tiropoulos, Fletcher, Clark, Young, Blakey, Docherty, McBryde, McLaughlin, Patterson, Stewart and Robson. Subs: Diack, Gordon, Smith, Convery and Nelson.

Arthurlie: Digney, Etherson, McLean, Reynolds, Mushet, Molloy, Bohme, Roulston, Marks, McNab and Reid. Subs: McNeil, Bradley, Gray and Hall.