COUNCILLORS who are making a real difference in East Renfrewshire communities can now be nominated for an award.

The Local Government Information Unit (LGIU) has opened nominations for the 2022 Cllr Awards – the fifth annual ceremony to celebrate the achievements of elected members across Scotland.

Categories include Community Champion, Leader of the Year, Young Councillor of the Year and Lifetime Achievement Award.

Nominations can be made until September 7, with the winners to be revealed in October.

An East Renfrewshire councillor was among those to be highly commended in last year’s awards.

David Macdonald, who represents Clarkston, Netherlee and Williamwood as an independent, received special recognition for his work to help reduce speed limits around local schools.

Jonathan Carr-West, chief executive of LGIU Scotland, said: “From how our towns look to the home care we receive and the funding of much-valued community projects, the work of councillors is felt across all of our lives on a daily basis.

“Councillors are key to keeping the machinery of everyday life going, ensuring the most vulnerable in the community are looked after and making sure the places where we live and work are thriving, safe and inclusive.

“Much of the work done by elected members is behind the scenes, which is why we created the Cllr Awards so that, every year, we can take time to recognise this work and celebrate their achievements.

“Our local democratic structures are stronger because of our councillors. We look forward to seeing a record number of nominations this year and getting to know the many inspiring stories behind them.”

The winners will be decided by a panel of judges that includes senior councillors and officers.

For more details or to submit a nomination, visit