Barrhead author Chris Brookmyre is in the running for a major crime writing award.

The McIlvanney Prize, previously called the Scottish Crime Book of the Year Award, is named in memory of William McIlvanney, often described as the godfather of tartan noir.

This year's shortlist will be announced on September 2, coinciding with the publication of his final book, The Dark Remains, which was completed with the help of Ian Rankin.

Other writers on the 13-strong longlist include Val McDermid, Denise Mina, Alex Gray, Neil Lancaster and Stuart MacBride.

The award recognises excellence in Scottish crime writing and comes with a £1,000 prize and nationwide promotion in Waterstones.

Chris, who has been nominated for his new book, The Cut, has featured on every longlist since the first in 2012, either as himself or his alter ego Ambrose Parry, and was the winner in 2016, thanks to his novel Black Widow.

Bob McDevitt, director of the Bloody Scotland International Crime Writing Festival, said: "The McIlvanney Prize longlist once again reaffirms that our crime readers love great books by well-loved authors they are familiar with but are always on the lookout for new voices and new ways to tell a crime story.

"It's a testament to the breadth and depth of Scottish crime writing."

The McIlvanney Prize will be judged by Karen Robinson, formerly of The Times Crime Club, Ayo Onatade, winner of the CWA Red Herring Award, and Ewan Wilson, crime fiction buyer from Waterstones Glasgow.

The winner will be revealed on Friday September 17.

The full longlist for the McIlvanney Prize 2021 is: The Cut, Chris Brookmyre The Silent Daughter, Emma Christie Before the Storm, Alex Gray Dead Man's Grave, Neil Lancaster The Coffinmaker's Garden, Stuart MacBride Still Life, Val McDermid Bad Debt, William McIntyre The Less Dead, Denise Mina How To Survive Everything, Ewan Morrison Edge of the Grave, Robbie Morrison The April Dead, Alan Parks Hyde, Craig Russell Waking the Tiger, Mark Wightman