BARRHEAD YFC under-21s completed an historic week for the club as they joined the 2003’s in the Scottish Cup final writes Robert Burns.

It is the first time in the history of Barrhead YFC that they have two teams in the finals in the same season.

Barrhead were dominant in a 3-0 win over Antonine at Neilston’s Brig O’Lea Stadium.

Barrhead started brightly and after eight minutes a great piece of skill from Peter Haggerty on the edge of the Antonine area was only stopped when he was hauled down, but the resulting free-kick came to nothing.

Then on the quarter-hour mark a cross from the right looked to have gone too deep, but Fraser McLaughlan managed to gather, he then skipped past the Antonine full back before hitting a great effort that saw the Antonine goalkeeper save well at his near post.

Barrhead were well on top now but just before the half-hour mark Conor Bradley had to make an important interception on the edge of his own area with the Antonine striker waiting to pounce.

From the clearance a ball was sent over the top and Chris Burns timed his run to perfection beating the calls for offside before bearing down on goal and sidefooting the ball under the goalkeeper and in off the far post. Antonine went close at the other end when their number 10 hit a great free-kick that was only bettered by the save from Calum McMaster in the Barrhead goal.

Three minutes into the second half and it was 2-0. A quick free-kick was sent in and when not properly cleared the ball ended up with Peter Haggerty who hit home the second of the day.

Two minutes later Burns had two efforts in quick succession but he couldn’t find the net.

Substitute Steven Lamont tried his luck from distance not long after replacing Burns then Bradley made way for Mark McGrory.

In the 68th minute Barrhead secured their final berth with Cammy O’Neil slotting the ball under the outrushing Antonine keeper.

There was no further scoring and Barrhead YFC can now dream of a Scottish Cup double Barrhead: McMaster, Bradley, Etherston, McFarlane, O’Donohue, Haggarty, O’Neil, Stevenson, Burns, and McLaughlin.

Subs: Easdon, Lamont, McGrory, Love, Lamont, and Hughes.