Arthurlie finally saw off Gartcairn to secure their place in the last 16 of the Scottish Junior Cup following a 2-1 victory at Dunterlie Park on Saturday.

The home side started the stronger and deservedly went ahead on 19 minutes through Michael Daly.

Even having a Marc McKenzie goal disallowed didn’t dampen the spirits of the Dunterlie support as they looked in control.

But just before the break they almost gifted Gartcairn a leveller.

McEwan on the right burst clear and with Hay to beat he played the ball square to Tait who, as he rolled the ball into the empty net, was flagged for being offside and the home side went in at the break a goal to the good. The second half however didn’t start well for the Barrhead side.

A ball into the area seemed to show a Gartcairn player throw himself over the shoulder of Kieran Brennan but to the bemusement of almost all in the ground the referee pointed to the spot.

An aggrieved Brennan was further enraged after being show a yellow card and on venting his fury received a second earning him an early bath.

Tait stepped up for the visitors and slotted the ball home to level the scores with 48 minutes on the clock.

Tait forced Hay into a decent save soon after as the visitors grew in belief before Ryan Holms was introduced for Ryan Scanlon.

Playing virtually the whole second half a man down huge credit must go to the Arthurlie players for the effort and commitment they showed, something a few players had been criticised for the lack of in recent weeks but on Saturday to a man they showed it in spades.

Arthurlie’s efforts got the reward they deserved with eight minutes to go, when McKenzie burst into the Gartcairn area before slotting past Mullen to mark his 18th goal of the season to date.

In the dying minutes Ross was shown a second yellow for the visitors but it wasn’t to have any effect on the game as Arthurlie saw out the match to book their place in the last sixteen where they will face Carnoustie away on Saturday, February 17.

Arthurlie: Hay, S Burns, Brennan, Girvan, Blakey, Scanlon, McAleenan, Lennon, McKenzie, Daly, and Wilson.

Subs: Holms, Craig, and Mohamed.

Gartcairn: Mullen, Williams, Spooner, Morris, Ross, Amos, McEwan, Leslie, Arbuckle, Tait, and Hepburn.

Subs: Johnston, Meechan, and Easton