Arthurlie edged the East Renfrewshire derby in a 2-1 win over local rivals Neilston on Saturday writes Robert Burns.

The Farmer’s Boys will have left Dunterlie Park feeling their performance merited a share of the spoils at the very least in the Sectional League Cup tie.

Arthurlie manager Chris Mackie handed competitive debuts to seven of his summer signings in a much changed side from last season.

The visitors started the better side, but it was Lie who had the game’s first real attempt when Marc McKenzie shot just wide.

Just after the half hour mark, McKenzie turned provider, he took a corner on the left and Chris Walker managed to get his head to the ball first to open the scoring.

Neilston shaded the first half without really threatening as the sides went in at the break with Arthurlie a goal ahead.

Ten minutes into the second half and Arthurlie doubled their lead, a ball into the Neilston area was only partially cleared and McKenzie gathered before hitting a great side footed effort past Sinclair to give the home side some breathing space.

Two minutes later Arthurlie were reduced to 10 men when Grant Hay, one of the few Lie players not to see red last season, was given his matching orders.

A ball into the home box saw McDade and Hay challenge for the ball and land in a heap, Hay seemed to react to the challenge and after treatment to both players he was shown a straight red card with Neilston awarded a penalty.

Anton Nugent came on to take over between the posts and his first act of the game was to pick the ball out of the net from the penalty as ex-Lie favourite Paul Stewart sent the keeper the wrong was and reduced the deficit.

With a man advantage, Neilston went all out for the equaliser with Diack going close on two occasions.

The first one was blocked, the second went just wide..

Arthurlie: Hay, McGregor, Brennan, Walker, Tart, Spence, McKenzie, McAleenan, Weir, Wyper, and Wilson.

Subs: Daly, Lindsay, Graham, McNeill and Nugent.

Neilston: Sinclair, Docherty, Geddes, McDade, Young, McBryde, Fletcher, Diack, Patterson, Stewart, and Curren.

Subs: Milne, Brown, McStay, Dow, and Boyd.