SCHOOLS across East Renfrewshire have won a prestigious honour from sportscotland.

The sportscotland School Sport Award has been given to 21 schools in the area, celebrating their innovation and achievement.

There are now 673 schools across the country which hold a School Sport Award, meaning more schools than ever are putting sport at the heart of their ethos.

The award, funded by the National Lottery, is a national initiative designed to encourage schools to improve physical education and sport.

It puts young people at the forefront of decision-making and planning of school sport, while increasing opportunities for pupils to take part.

Councillor Paul O’Kane, East Renfrewshire’s convener for education, said: “I am delighted to see so many of our schools excelling in the delivery of school sport. Congratulations go to all who have contributed.”

Primary schools which achieved gold awards include Braidbar, Busby, Cross Arthurlie, Eaglesham, Giffnock, Neilston, St John’s, Thornliebank, Uplawmoor, Carolside, Kirkhill and Netherlee.

Also successful were Eastwood High, Mearns Castle High, St Ninian’s High and Woodfarm High.

Silver awards went to Calderwood Lodge Primary, Carlibar Primary, Crookfur Primary, Isobel Mair School and St Thomas’ Primary.

Stewart Harris, chief executive of sportscotland, said: “Congratulations to staff and pupils across East Renfrewshire who are putting sport at the heart of their community.”

To achieve a bronze or silver award, schools self-assess their current practice. However, to gain gold status, an extensive external assessment is also carried out by an independent panel of experts.