BARRHEAD'S regeneration will remain at the top of the council's agenda following the appointment of its new administration. Labour and SNP councillors will be pulling the strings in Barrhead after confirming they will continue in their coalition.

And leader Cllr Jim Fletcher - who returns for another five years at the helm - promised key Barrhead projects, such as the revamp of Barrhead Sports Centre are at the heart of their plans.

He told the News: "We are dedicated to building new football pitches at Barrhead High School and St Lukes High School.

"There is also a lot of money dedicated to regeneration in Barrhead, such as plans for the revamp of Barrhead Sports Centre which will go ahead." Neilston's SNP representative Tony Buchanan replaces ousted Barrhead councillor Douglas Yates - the biggest-name casualty in this month's council elections - as SNP group leader.

And he echoed Fletcher's comments, adding: "The administration will be looking to build on the many successes which we have had in the past five years. Youth unemployment is a big issue which we must face and we are looking to push ahead with our town centre regeneration plan for Barrhead." Elsewhere, Barrhead independent Danny Devlin is also set to be part of the administration, as all four of Barrhead's councillors, including Labour's Betty Cunningham and Kenny Hay, and SNP man Tommy Reilly take their seats at the top table.

Three of the Neilston, Uplawmoor and Newton Mearns North councillors will also be involved, including Buchanan and Labour reps Elaine Green and Paul O'Kane, who at 23 is the youngest member on the council. Conservative representative Charlie Gilbert will be the only Barrhead or Neilston councillor in opposition.

The council will once again be led by Giffnock and Thornliebank councillor Jim Fletcher, who also filled the same role in the previous administration.

They will also appoint a new provost, with the frontrunner believed to be SNP man Councillor Alistair Carmichael.

The full council is due to meet this afternoon (Wednesday, May 23) where the new administration will be sworn in, a full list of convenors announced and the new provost appointed.